Unsupported Metadata Version: Hilt Dependency Error

Unsupported Metadata Version: Hilt Dependency Error

Photo Credit by medium.com/@alik.rafi7

I encountered this error while I was working with hilt dependencies in my Android project

error: [Hilt]

91  Unsupported metadata version. Check that your Kotlin version is >= 1.0: java.lang.IllegalStateException: Unsupported metadata version. Check that your Kotlin version is >= 1.0

I initially added the following Hilt dependencies in my gradle file

build.gradle (App Level)

//plugins
kotlin("kapt")
id("com.google.dagger.hilt.android")


//Dagger-Hilt dependencies
implementation("com.google.dagger:hilt-android:2.44")
kapt("com.google.dagger:hilt-android-compiler:2.44")

build.gradle.kts(Project Level)

id("com.google.dagger.hilt.android") version "2.44" apply false
id("org.jetbrains.kotlin.android") version "1.9.0" apply false

How I fixed the error

Fixing this error is very easy to do, although I debugged for hours before I realized that it was just to change the hilt dependency version at the App and Project level

Go to: Change the hilt dependency version to the one that is compatible with your Kotlin version

build.gradle (App Level)

//Dagger-Hilt dependencies
implementation("com.google.dagger:hilt-android:2.48")
kapt("com.google.dagger:hilt-android-compiler:2.48")

build.gradle.kts(Project Level)

id("com.google.dagger.hilt.android") version "2.48" apply false
id("org.jetbrains.kotlin.android") version "1.9.0" apply false